Well it has been about a month since my last post and boy, has a lot happened in just a few short weeks.

I decided that I would take some time while it was available to update all of you on what has been happening and let you know why I might be venturing onto my blog a little less in future.

Don’t cry sad tears, I know your days would be empty without me coming to share with you and brighten it up a little bit. I am not completely stepping away from my blog but for the foreseeable future I will be posting less often than I have done over the past year.

I did, however, want to write a quick update and let you all know what I have been up to as a lot has happened in the month since my last post.

Firstly I want to write a conclusion to a previous post as last month I was taking part in No Shave November. I was looking to raise money for the American Cancer Society and fight against such a terrible illness.

Unfortunately I had to shave my beard prematurely on November 29th, 2 days before I was intending to, but more on why a little later in the post. And on top of that I was sponsored by a grand total of 0 people and raised a grand total of $0. So I hope all the other Men and Women who were taking part in No Shave November raised more money and at the very least I managed to raise awareness of the fight against cancer.

But here is a picture of me clean shaven on October 31st next to the final day of unhindered beard growth on November 29th.

 

 

I initially took a short break from my blog at the start of November to focus some more effort on my Graphic Novel. The characters appearing in it and their powers have always been kind of in flux and I had realized that I had a predominantly white cast with only 2 having any sort of substantial backstory, if any back story at all.

So I took the time to work on diversifying my cast and writing backstories that would be engaging while also delving into these Characters new nationalites, races and backgrounds. I wanted to add depths to my characters in a way that would grip people and not diversify and change things just for the sake of change.

I am hoping to focus more on my Graphic Novel in the future and finish creating my cast and giving depth to the initial story and make it more engaging for readers as a whole.

Related: Is Diversity Important in Writing?

 

And of course, the main reason why I have not been posting in the last month and the reason why I will not be on my blog nearly as much as I have been, is that 2 weeks ago Hannah gave birth to our beautiful baby boy, Matthew.

img_0712

Honestly, it’s hard to believe that it has already been 2 weeks, it’s all been a bit of a blur to be honest. Since his birth we have hit the ground running and it feels like I haven’t stopped since and I haven’t had a chance to stop, catch my breath and actually let it sink in that I am a father.

img_0725

Becoming a parent is one of the most amazing things that could have ever happened in my life. I have an amazing blessing of being able to see this little boy grow, learn, change and develop over many years to come and have so many questions abut his future from what will his final hair and eye colors be to what will he do with his life and what will his passions be.

I have the blessing of looking at a perfect little amalgamation of Hannah and I in the most wonderful little package ever. And to see his little personality already coming through at just 2 weeks old is absolutely amazing.

img_0734

He already has his likes such as sucking (whether that be mommy, a pacifier or even just air which gives him hiccups), being held while he sleep, eating… A LOT and he absolutely adores the music of Sarah McLachlan so much so that in the first few days it actually soothed him while he was crying (I think he has his first celebrity crush to be honest).

He also has a number of dislikes which include sleeping for long periods of time, having baths, having his diaper changed and generally having someone do something to him when he wants to be left alone.

It’s also amazing to see how smart my boy is already, he keeps trying to roll over (and when swaddled he has been able to roll onto and stay on his side) and last night while having ‘Tummy Time’ he was actually able to start lifting his head even though he should not be able to do either of these things at just 2 weeks old.

img_0770

Becoming a parent is also probably one of, if not the, hardest things I have ever done. From the final stages of my wife’s labor to now it has been physically, emotionally and mentally exhausting. It is tougher, more draining and requires more give from you than you could ever imagine prior to having children and no amout of advice and experience from others really prepares you and honestly it was a little shock to the system to begin with although I think we have found a little more of a rhythm and routine now.

It really does require you to sacrifice of yourself for your child and you have to come to terms with some days you won’t have a shower, some weeks certain chores will not be done and some nights you just won’t have the energy to make dinner.

Becoming a parent really does tap into every part of your emotions and this has only been the first couple of weeks. I cannot wait to see what happens in the weeks and months to come as Matthew learns to walk, and talk, and read, and write. As he discovers his passions, and loves, and learns about the plans that God has for his life and develops his own personal relationship with Him.

I am sure I will write many more blogs letting you see Matthew as he continues to grow and share his life and my experiences as a parent with all of my readers who I am grateful want to take the time to read my blog.

 

If you liked this post then you can leave a like and a comment below. Please feel free to subscribe to keep up with the latest goings on and check out the other posts on my blog.

And as always you can follow and connect with me via Social Media;

Facebook – facebook.com/ComicsandtheCross

Twitter – @comicsandcross

Instagram – comics_and_the_cross

