I know, I know, I’m a day late with my second post but I am sure that you will all be able to find it in your hearts to forgive me and hopefully you will all still enjoy this post.

To check out my first post in the Quote Challenger then you can click right here.

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” – Matthew 6:33 (NIV)

Where better to find my second quote than from the Bible and from the words of Jesus nonetheless. This quote is taken during a talk Jesus gave, referred to as the Sermon on the Mount.

 

This quote is the finale in a number of verses where Jesus talks about worry. Specifically he tells us not to worry about our everyday things, such as whether we will have enough food or clothing.

He describes how God provides food for the birds and wraps the flowers with beautiful clothing that were more beautiful than King Solomon at his most glorious looking. And then asks us, Doesn’t God care more for you than the birds and the flowers.

I believe the reason that he tells us not to worry is because we as human beings can so easily consumed with worry. It takes over our lives and worrying about one thing can lead to worrying about many other things. But  Jesus says in an earlier verse, “Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?” (Matthew 6:27).

Basically saying, what is the point in worrying so much. All it does it put stress and pressure (or stressure if you are my old pastor) and for what? There is no benefit to worrying.

When we worry, we take things out of God’s hands and into our own and tell him that we want to do everything ourselves. Which God will let us do if we really want to, but He doesn’t want us to carry such a burden and weight.

That’s why he says to seek Him and His Kingdom. Because honestly if we want to do that, leave everything else in His hands, then He will take care of it all and we will have no reason to worry. Because He loves us.

Does that mean that we sit around and do nothing? No of course not, we still need to live our lives and get on with our day to day.God isn’t going to make groceries magically appear in your fridge and cupboards, you still need to go to the grocery store. We still have a responsibility to live our lives and there are consequences e.g. if I choose not to go to my job then very quickly I won’t have a job to go to and will have to live with the consequences of that.

It isn’t about taking the responsibility away from you. This quote is about you putting everything into God’s hands, trusting him, and not being overwhelmed and overcome with worry.

 

Per the quote challenge rules, I now nominate two new people: I am going to nominate CurlyGirlAbroad and MyHappyCornerBlog. The rules: Post three quotes across three different days, link to my blog, and nominate two new folks, if you choose to do so.

 

If you liked this post then you can leave a like  and a comment below. Please feel free to subscribe to keep up with the latest goings on and check out the other posts on my blog.

And as always you can follow me on Social Media;

Twitter – @comicsandcross

Instagram – comics_and_the_cross

